Google Plus Glossary

A

Account – Everything about you on Google+. Your account is the overarching framework that allows you access to Google services, records your personal settings and identifies you from the other users.

Activity Drawer – Beneath a post is a button displaying the amount of +s and shares the post has. Clicking that icon brings up the activity drawer, which shows who exactly hit + or share on the post.

Added – Including someone into a circle. See also: Circled

Application – Applications, or apps, are the added features of Google+. These include everything on the sidebar, such as games, hangouts, events and photos.

B

Badges – The Google+ equivalent of the Facebook Like box. A bad is a snippet of code that can be added to any website. This code renders into a box and a link that displays the fact that you are part of Google+. The link allows users to easily add your page to one of their circles.

Block – Blocking someone puts them into a separate corner of your Google+ world. A blocked person cannot see your posts, comment on your posts or view any non-public information in your profile. You can block people for any reason, unblock them at will and report them for violation of the Google+ terms of service if you desire. The block feature is useful for anything from avoiding a stalker to reporting ad spam and fake accounts.

C

Centre Stage – In a Hangout, users are able to view webcam feeds of each other. The central, main video is the centre stage. This may be a discussion leader or a keynote speaker.

Circle Me – The Google+ equivalent to the Facebook friend request or the Twitter and Tumblr follow links. Adding someone to a circle will send them a notification asking them to add you to a circle in return.

Circles – Categories of people you have added on Google+. These by default include friends, acquaintances, family and following. Custom circles can be created. Someone is in your circles if you are friends with or are following them.

Circled – You are circled when someone adds you to one of their circles. This may be someone who is in a mutual friends circle, or someone who has decided to follow you, or any other custom circle definition.

D

Dashboard – Your dashboard is a control panel that provides access to all of the data associated with your account. This includes your account, profile, Google Drive docs, Gmail account information and anything else associated with a Google product.

E

Extended Circles – Equivalent to the Facebook “Friends of Friends” level. Anyone in your circles is a close group. Anyone in their circles but not in yours are said to be in your extended circles. They do not follow you directly, but you are only one link removed.

G

Green Room – When you start a video hangout, you have a moment where your video feed is active for yourself but not for anyone else. This green room period allows you to test your video and audio, as well as your appearance and location.

H

Hangout – A hangout is a video conference call among people in your circles and can include up to ten people.

Hashtags – Any word or phrase preceded by a # is a hashtag. Just like on Twitter and Tumblr, you can add hashtags to your Google+ posts in order to later search and filter by them.

Huddle – Like a hangout, only restricted to text chat. Huddles do not include video from any members.

I

Incoming – Users who have been referred to your circles or your posts are incoming users. This only applies to users who are not already in one of your circles and who are not actively following you. It is a way to see any newcomers to your posts and circles.

Instant Upload – Using one of the Google+ mobile apps allows you to automatically upload and post pictures and video that you take. This album is set to private by default, to avoid mistakes with uploading private content. It is all stored in the “from your phone” album and can be made public from there.

Invite – When Google+ was still in a limited setup, you needed an invite from an existing user in order to register and participate. Invites are no longer necessary.

J

Join – To sign up for Google+ directly, or to active an existing Google account on Google+.

K

Knowledge Info panel – The panel that appears specifically in search for the company, business or brand name. This appears on the far right hand side of the search results. It provides an insight or Info in a Panel specifically relating to the Google+ activity. It provides a logo image, visit Google+ page and two snippet excerpts of recent posts

L

Limited – A label for certain posts in your feed. Limited posts are posts made by someone in your circles and are limited in visibility to only those within the relevant circles. See also: Public.

Loop – The mobile version of Google+, specifically formatted for mobile devices with small screens.

M

+Mention – The equivalent to tagging people on Twitter or Facebook. To do this, when you are writing a post, type the + or @ symbol. This will bring up a menu of people in your circles and allow you to select one of them. Doing so will put their name in the post, linked to their profile. It will also send them a notification, allowing them to participate in the conversation if they so choose.

N

Notification – A notification is a message that appears in your profile to tell you when something has happened. Notifications appear when you are added to a circle, when one of your posts is commented on, shared or +1ed, and for many other changes you may be interested in.

P

Plus – A plus, or +1, is the method of promotion on Google+ equivalent to a Facebook Like. Posts have a +1 button on them at the bottom. A plus typically means you enjoy the post and recommend that others in your circles read it.

Plustream – The stream or feed of plussed, shared and posted information you see every day. This includes photos, posts, app postings, announcements, videos and any other item of interest that shows up in your circles.

Plusisms – The plus-share and plus-word that Google+ users invent to describe the unique environment the social platform has created. Plustream, Plusher and Plushare are all Plusisms.

Post – An item you have posted. This may include text items you create to post, photos you have posted, videos you upload and any other items you share through Google+. A post is distinct from comments, which are attached to the parent posts.

Profile – Not to be confused with Account. Your profile is everything to do with Google+, but not with other Google services. It includes your name and personal information, your introduction, your profile picture and all of the other information you have chosen to upload and share. When someone visits your page on Google+, that page is your profile.

Profile Summary – Similar to meta data for Google searches, only publicly displayed on your profile. Your summary is the bit of text that appears when your profile comes up in lists. It includes your name and a line of information relevant to the situation, such as a related circle or a place of employment. It helps identify you among a group of people.

Profile Card – A box containing your Google+ link, profile picture, profile summary and verification status. This card is designed much like a badge. Its purpose is for posting on other sites in order to funnel traffic back to your Google+ page.

Public – The alternative to limited as a post status. Public posts can be seen by anyone at any time. Anyone is able to comment on them as well, unless the post has comments disabled.

R

Ripple – The ripple diagram is a map of the spreading influence of a given post. It maps primarily who has shared a post, and which of the new audience has re shared it, and so on.

S

Settings – The various preferences that regulate how your notifications are delivered. You can choose to to have yourself tagged in photos, have your notifications sent by SMS or e-mail, change privacy settings and more.

Share – If a user likes one of your posts they can share it. This reposts it to their circles to give it a wider exposure. This re share process can continue until the audience is completely different.

Sparks – Google+ takes your interests into consideration and searches for related content. This content is meant to spark a conversation or new interest, hence the name.

T

Tag – A tag is a specific functionality of photos. A user can point out your presence in a photo with a tag. This links the photo to you.

Thumbnail – A small version of a photo or video that takes up less space and links to the full version.

V

Verified (Organisation) – An account that is made by a business or organisation can be verified and flagged as an official account. This helps Google eliminate fake accounts from the Google+ platform.

Verified (Registration) – When you register for a Google+ account, you will be asked to verify your e-mail address. This ensures that you are who you claim to be.